The Four Agreements- A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz was originally published in 1997. In 2001, I picked up a copy of this concise and powerful book, and over the last 10 years I’ve not only recommended it to numerous people but I have gone back to reread the awe inspiring words of wisdom countless times.

I can’t pinpoint a particular event or series of events that reminded me that I had this valuable tool in my possession. Often times its been some random conversation or a glance at my bookshelf that made me pick it up again; almost like a glorious new discovery I forgot I even owned. It always pops up however, just when I need to be reminded of it powerful message, or someone in my life is in dire need of the words contained within.

Recently, in December of 2011, a friend of mine was going through a really rough patch- life changing decisions that she had made which she was now struggling with and working on how to move forward. Regret is a word I don’t include in my vocabulary and I quickly try to remove from others’ vocabularies if the occasion should arise. Why? Simply because I believe that all is in perfect order even if we have a hard time understanding this to be true at the time.

I wholeheartedly believe that there is no such thing as a ‘wrong’ choice or the ‘wrong’ path. Even in a situation where looking back its apparent that it wasn’t a ‘great’ choice or path- it taught you something and lead you to the present point. Its cliche’ perhaps, but everything really does happen for a reason. Anyhow, I had her pick up a copy of The Four Agreements and little by little she is on her way to healing old wounds and finding happiness within herself.

So back to the book and the point of this post- pick up a copy! At first glance, the four agreements contained in this book may seem pretty simple- I would say it would depend on how willing and able you are of letting go of past agreements you have either made or have been programmed to agree with. I promise that in trying to live by them they can be some of the most complex ‘ideals’, but if you have a desire to transform your life and experience true personal freedom and happiness, in there lies the ease of it.

I am guilty of having to go back and remind myself of these agreements, and every time I learn something new from the message and something new about myself.

Book Synopsis:

“THE FOUR AGREEMENTS

BE IMPECCABLE WITH YOUR WORD

Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

DON’T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY

Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering.

DON’T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS

Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness, and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.

ALWAYS DO YOUR BEST

Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.”

~Don Miguel Ruiz

This is just a sneak peek to the many lessons and wealth of knowledge contained within.

Enjoy 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Four Agreements- A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

Leave a Reply

