I Heart You Funky, Green Fruit!

For the past few months I’ve been tinkering around with my diet. Turns out that having a baby can really do a number on a girl’s body!

Since having my son Cohen last year, certain foods I was once able to eat with no problem are now wreaking havoc on my body. Inside and OUT!

A few years back I was actually a vegetarian (for almost 3 years), and I fell off the wagon for a kosher hot dog. Don’t ask! Needless to say, I somehow must have needed or craved that animal protein, as I would soon find out I was pregnant.

On my “food” journey I have come to LOVE LOVE LOVE avocados. Growing up in a Cuban household, you would think I always did right? WRONG! Its safe to say its a Latin staple at the dinner table, at least a couple times a week, but I loathed them! It didn’t matter how they were served.  Alone with olive oil, salt and pepper, in salad, guacamole… it was always bad for me. Then one day BAM! I was pregnant with a little boy who wanted guacamole ALL THE TIME!

I of course thought my love for this funky, green fruit would fade as pregnancy ended and normal eating commenced once again… NOT the case, and I cannot tell you how lucky I feel that the craze stuck around!

I currently stick to a mostly raw diet which includes, fruits, vegetables, nuts, and raw cheeses, which might sound peculiar, but if you are a lover a cheese… Its a MUST try. And of course, all the sashimi a girl can get! Now… I am a real person who once ate whatever her heart desired, and along this crazy journey of getting to know and understand foods and their affect on our bodies, I do allow myself to indulge from time to time.

So back to my love of avocados. Since deciding to follow a mostly raw diet, this meant that I could eat avocados! What I didn’t realize was that I could eat to my hearts content! So why is this a good thing? They are GREAT for you!

It’s a common misconception that avocados are high in fat and cholesterol. On the contrary. While avocados do contain a nice bit of fat… its GOOD (monosaturated) fat, and it has ZERO cholesterol! Monosaturated fats actually help lower total cholesterol. In fact, according to recent studies, consuming 1-2 avocados a day along with eating a mostly raw diet can actually help you LOSE fat. The live fat-splitting enzyme (lipase) in the fruit helps metabolize fats and utilize them for energy in your body, rather than storing them away. Amazing!

That’s not all. Avocados have so many amazing health benefits, for both our insides and our outside!

On the inside:

Its an alkalizing food– An alkaline rich environment provides more oxygen to your blood cells which in turn creates an environment where diseases, such as cancer, cannot live. An alkaline rich diet also helps fight osteoporosis!

Heart Health– Avocados contain high levels of folate (a water-soluble B vitamin). Studies show that a diet rich in folate can decrease the risk for heart disease. They are also a great source of vitamin E, monounsaturated fats, and glutathione (a powerful antioxidant) which is also great for your heart. More on this powerful antioxidant another time ;).

Breast Cancer Prevention– Avocado is high in oleic acid (also found in olive oil), which not only helps lower total cholesterol, but has also shown dramatic reduction in the levels of the breast cancer causing gene.

On the outside:

On the skin–  The oils in avocado are very beneficial to the skin. Both soothing and moisturizing, it can be a great treatment to for eczema and psoriasis. Use it as a facial mask to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Rub it into a wound, as it will help speed up the healing process and has antibacterial properties.

In your hair– Revive dull hair by mashing up an avocado and rubbing it into your hair.

What else can I say?  Here’s to Healthy Happy Eating!!

Make sure if you are going to use avocados straight on your skin that you do a patch test on the inside of your arm (for 2-5 minutes) FIRST, just to make sure you are not allergic or sensitive to it. Foods in their raw state can be potent when not buffered with other ingredients and can cause skin irritation in some individuals… better safe than sorry. 😉

5 thoughts on “I Heart You Funky, Green Fruit!

  1. That’s so weird. Recently, a doctor gave a list of foods to avoid (cannot disclose why though) and I was shocked to see avocado on that list…What are some risks? I find it strange that a fruit or vegetable would be a “risk” to your health.

    • Hi Marco! Thank you for your comment. Its true that it may seem strange that a superfood, such as the avocado, could be harmful in any way. The truth is that any food could be harmful to an individual who may have a sensitivity due to allergy, medication, or illness.
      I respect that you are unable to speak about your list of foods to avoid and why, so I will list some adverse effects that avocados can cause and let you make that determination for yourself. 😉
      Acovados may decrease the effectiveness of some medications such as blood thinners and anti-inflammatory meds. It may also elevate high blood pressure if taken in combination with certain herbs and supplements. In addition, certain avocado oils can cause liver damage in individuals with an already compromised liver function.

      I hope this helps. If you are still unable to make the connection I would definitely recommend contacting your doctor and having him/her explain further.

      Best of luck!

  2. How funny that I bought three bags of avocados last night! They are amazing and delish as a spread instead of mayo and in dressing! I am thinking though you living in California it would be more of a staple now as it is almost included on everything there 🙂

Leave a Reply

